Huge question confronting Aussies at World Cup

1 month ago 16
PR Distribution

It's the 1 large trophy that eludes the Australian men's cricket team, and they'll get their seventh accidental astatine glory implicit the adjacent fewer weeks.

But questions bent implicit the 2 prima batters - David Warner and Steve Smith - who some endured a miserable 2nd fractional of the IPL.

Warner was dropped by his team, Sunrisers Hyderabad, contempt having captained that squad to the rubric previously. Smith, meanwhile, struggled to get a crippled for Delhi Capitals.

David Warner and Steve Smith playing a T20 planetary for Australia successful 2020. (Getty)

Australia's caller signifier is hardly origin for optimism - the squad has won conscionable six of 21 matches successful the past 13 months.

Here's each you request to cognize astir the T20 World Cup.

When is the T20 World Cup?

The opening circular gets underway this weekend, with Oman and Papua New Guinea facing disconnected this Sunday astatine 9pm (ADST) astatine the Al Amerat Cricket Stadium successful Muscat.

The 'Super 12' signifier begins erstwhile Australia play their archetypal lucifer connected Saturday October 23rd astatine 9pm ADST, and the tourney volition reason with the last astatine 1am ADST connected Monday November 15th.

England sanction beardown Ashes squad

How galore teams are involved?

There are 16 teams successful all.

Eight teams person precocious consecutive to the Super 12 stage, by virtuousness of their T20 satellite ranking. They are: India, Australia, Pakistan, England, New Zealand, West Indies, South Africa, and Afghanistan.

The ninth and tenth-ranked teams - Bangladesh and Sri Lanka - volition articulation the remaining six qualifiers successful the opening round. They are: Oman, Papua New Guinea, Ireland, Namibia, Scotland, and the Netherlands.

READ MORE: Mark Webber's bold prediction for 2022 Formula One season

READ MORE: Wilder's 'disrespect' to Fury moments aft KO loss

READ MORE: Remembering the epic enactment of bravery that kept St George's grounds streak alive

How does the tourney work?

The opening circular has divided the 8 teams into 2 groups, pitting each quartet successful circular robin competition. The apical 2 from each radical progresses to the Super 12, which is again divided successful half.

Australia, England, South Africa and the West Indies marque up Group A, portion India, Pakistan, New Zealand and Afghanistan are successful Group B. Two qualifiers volition beryllium added into each group, with each squad playing the different 5 once.

The apical 2 from each radical advances to the semi-finals.

Head pummels Marsh Cup treble ton

Who volition win?

India are the favourites, and England are second-best astatine the bookies contempt the absences of Jofra Archer and Ben Stokes. The West Indies, who person won 2 of the past 3 World Cups, are adjacent 3rd favourites with New Zealand.

Australia are 5th favourites to triumph astatine $7.00.

Aaron Finch and Justin Langer (Getty)

Who is successful the Australian team?

The squad volition beryllium led by skipper Aaron Finch and vice-captain Pat Cummins. The remainder of the squad is: Ashton Agar, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

The 3 reserve players are Dan Christian, Nathan Ellis, and Daniel Sams.

READ MORE: Big telephone made connected Perth's Ashes Test

READ MORE: Fed-up fable confronts cricket's 'biggest issue'

Why is it successful Qatar and Oman?

The tourney was primitively meant to instrumentality spot past twelvemonth successful April, and beryllium held successful India. As the COVID-19 pandemic made that impossible, it was pushed backmost to 2021 with the BCCI inactive assured of hosting.

It wasn't until June that the determination was made to determination the opening circular to Oman, and the remainder of the tourney from the Super 12 onwards to Qatar.

The West Indies spell berserk aft beating England successful the men's 2016 T20 World Cup final. (Getty)

"The BCCI made each effort to signifier the ICC Men's T20 World Cup successful India and supply its passionate fans with a crushed to cheer aft a agelong play of gloom," BCCI Secretary Jay Shah said.

"However, the prevailing pandemic concern successful the state meant that the wellness and information of everyone acrophobic was fraught with hazard should a tourney of this stature is held crossed the country.

"The BCCI volition proceed to big the tournament, which volition present beryllium held successful the UAE and Oman and enactment intimately with the ICC to marque it a memorable event."

What is the prize money?

The winners volition person $1.6 cardinal USD ($2.16 cardinal AUD), with the runner-up getting $800,000 USD ($1.08 cardinal AUD) and each losing semi-finalist $400,000 USD. ($504,000 AUD).

The 4 teams that are knocked retired successful the archetypal circular each person $40,000 USD ($50,400 AUD), and the remaining 8 who don't get past the Super 12 volition get $70,000 ($94,500 AUD) each.

There is besides a $40,000 USD bonus for each idiosyncratic triumph successful the archetypal circular and the Super 12.

For a regular dose of the champion of the breaking quality and exclusive contented from Wide World of Sports, subscribe to our newsletter by clicking here!

The biggest AFL commercialized blunders that backfired connected teams involved

Read Entire Article